Select Page

Three-star rural cottage

located in the heights of western Reunion Island

Trois étoiles

Relaxation & Escape

in a relaxing tropical environment

Trois étoiles

spacious rooms

and comfort worthy of the best hotels

Trois étoiles

Nice decoration

and impeccable cleanliness

Trois étoiles

privacy

Suitable for exchange

Trois étoiles

Equipped kitchen

with everything you’ll need

Trois étoiles

Kaz Koz-Kozé has been labeled

Quality Tourism Reunion Island

since April 2017.

Kaz Koz-Kozé has been labeled Quality Tourism Reunion Island since April 2017.

Kaz Koz-Kozé has been labeled

Quality Tourism Reunion Island

since April 2017.

Intimate tropical atmosphere at Kaz Koz-Kozé …

“The house where we chat” where the hammocks are swaying alongside the banana trees, coffee, kaffir lime and other passion fruit, or under the brightly colored veranda.

Cottage of 1044 ft², adjoining the owners (but very independent), including a garden with flowers and trees (palm, bougainvillea, creepers of passion fruit …), a veranda of 430 ft² with dining area, lounge area and rest area, 3 double bedrooms, including 2 attic upstairs, decorated by themes (Volcano, Forest of Colors, Indian Ocean), one with shower and toilet, a bathroom planted with a wall of orchids with shower Italian style, a toilet, a living room (with TV), a mezzanine with reading area and games, and a fully equipped kitchen. A spa and a massage table are at your disposal.

Located at Ermitage les Hauts, 6 km from the lagoon and its beach and 400m above sea level, La Kaz Koz-Kozé enjoys the sunshine of Western Reunion at an altitude ideal to escape the heat of the coastline of the austral summer and the winter chill of July-August. Here, no need for air conditioners or heating.

Availability

Check the availability of the cottage for your next vacation.
Calendar is loading...
- Disponible
21
- Réservé
21
- En attente

To visit from the Kaz Koz-Kozé …

Within a radius of 2 to 6 km

you will find:

  • All essential services: supermarket, restaurants, doctors, pharmacies, bakeries.
  • A very modern pool at Belle Vue.
  • The Musée de Villèle and the chapelle Pointue, the historical site of Madame Desbassyns’ property, depicting the history of slavery.
  • The museum’s nursery: besides the sale of horticultural productions, his visit is a moment of relaxation among the tropical flowers.
  • The “La Part des Anges” distillery in La Saline (very interesting guided tour, sale of brandies based on tropical fruits).
  • The golf Bassin Bleu, where you can play golf course, but also have a drink at sunset: the panoramic view is breathtaking on the west coast.
  • The Chapel “La Misère”, renowned temple of indignation.
  • Small hikes/walks like “Le Moulin Kader” or go down to the sea by sugar cane fields.
  • An interchange on the road Tamarins (expressway, 2km) to access north to St Paul, St Denis, Salazie, St Benoit, south to St Leu, St Pierre, Cilaos and the Volcano.
  • The Garden of Eden, lush botanical garden near the coast.
  • Start of the Maïdo road (2 km), which, in 45 minutes by car, will lead you to the magnificent view of the Mafate cirque and from hiking trails (Grand Bénare, Mafate, Ilet Alcide, La Glacière ).
  • The Sunday morning market at Ermitage les Bains: fruits, vegetables and crafts.
Of course the lagoon and its beaches (6 km, St Gilles les Bains, Ermitage les Bains, La Saline les Bains). To note, among other activities to do: the aquatic hike organized by the Marine Reserve, with palms masks and snorkel, the Aquarium, as well as all seaside activities.

Between 15 and 20 km

North:

  • Saint Paul, its bay and its beach of black sand *, named “the bay of the best anchorage” by the first arrivals in 1663. The Waterfront, its jetty, its “Hôtel de Laçay” which was carpeted in 2013 with giant photos of Reunion Island during the commemoration of the 350th anniversary of the island’s settlement, symbolizing the diversity of today’s Reunionese society. Large beachfront market on Friday all day and Saturday morning.
  • The Rivière des Galets: entrance to the circus of Mafate. A track of 12 km allowed only tax 4X4 leads you to the start of the trails. We will give you their phone numbers for reservations.
  • Le Port, city and port, economic hub of the island, modern city built on a stony delta of the products of the erosion of the circus of Mafate.
  • Short hike (45 mn to 1h30) at Cap Noir, in the upper Dos d’Ane: exceptional view (and different from that of Maïdo) on the circus of Mafate.

South:

  • Saint Leu, its small lagoon, its rondavelles (beach bistros and their musicians Sunday evening) and especially surfing (hot global spot), paragliding (departures at 800 or 1600 m altitude and landing on the beach). Do not miss Kelonia, center for the study and rescue of sea turtles, the museum Stella Matutina, museum of sugar cane and the Botanical Garden of Mascarin with its National Conservatory.
  • The Hubert de Lisle road: this balcony road located at an altitude of approximately 800 m crosses all the West Heights. Sinuous and picturesque, it offers dazzling views and a crossing of Reunion Rural, since in Reunion, the countryside, it is in the Hauts (the cities surround the coast of the island). You will meet traditional lifestyles, between market gardening, cattle breeding and pastures.

Further … to the day

  • St-Pierre, its marina with dock, its beach, its indie temples, its nightlife (piano bars), its big Saturday market.
  • The tour of the island is about 250 km, it can be a big day trip, because many sites are not to be missed!
  • The Great South and its volcanic flows, return by “The Plains” (Cafres and Palmistes).
  • The City of the Volcano in Bourg Murat (Plaine des Cafres).
And finally, leave La Kaz Koz-Kozé for one or more nights … and come back to rest there, of course.

And go on foot, on the trails, to discover the jewels of Reunion, namely the landscapes of our “Pitons, Cirques and Ramparts” classified as World Heritage by UNESCO.
You will enjoy these moments better if you sleep one night in a lodge (we can give you good addresses), because it takes about 100 km and 1h45 / 2h by car from La Kaz Koz-Kozé to start walking on the trails of some great sites, such as the Volcano of La Fournaise, the circus of Cilaos, the circus of Salazie or the high Mafate. It is feasible to the day but the 2 times 2 hours of road (G / B) are quite tiring.

New access ramp
* (be careful, in Reunion, you do not bathe next to the black sand beaches, except at the Etang Salé in the marked space, because the waters are not protected by a coral reef / white sand ).

The objects of Kaz koz-kozé

Lovers of beautiful objects, Genevieve and André put at your disposal in the house furniture and objects that make sense to them: between the cabinet of the great grandmother, that of the grandmother, the watercolors of their friend Anne Henriet (annehenriet.fr), the art frames of their friend Sylvie Deboos (sylvie-cadres.eklablog.com), volcanoes photos of local photographers (Jean-Patrice Caumes, Z’Arts Grafik de Bourbon, Serge Garnier , Patrick Chefson), recycled objects and beds made by André (whose craft is cabinetmaker), the visit of the house will be a colorful moment. You will understand why the respect of the objects that they propose to your use is guaranteed by a deposit.

The courtyard

The garden of Genevieve and Andrew, the “court”, or the “kour”, as the Creoles say …

Geneviève and André are naturalists, amateurs but passionate. Naturalists is a big word if it evokes the university degrees of the field “nature” that they do not have, but it is the right word if it qualifies a panel of values ​​related to the protection, the valuation and especially to the love of the nature of Reunion, values ​​that animate them and will have great pleasure to share with you.

Metropolitan, having made the choice to take root in the land of Réunion for 23 years, Geneviève, recently retired, was an environmental technician at the Reunion National Park and a former mountain guide. André is an avid ornithologist and hiker. Together, they “root” also many plant species in their garden, favoring native species and endemic (existing only in Reunion) adapted to the climate of their living space.

They will be happy to show you their “courtyard” where indigenous and endemic as scented wood, damsel, red latanier and other benzoin or wood of the arnette, compete with exotic passion fruit, avocado, lemongrass or frangipani.

New access ramp
The courtyard, the garden, the veranda of Geneviève and André, it is also a space of expression for their friend storytellers, actors, musicians, singers or poets, a place of “kozman” (“causement”), of where the name of the cottage. Their anchorage in the land of Réunion is illustrated not only in the roots of trees they plant in their garden, but also in the provision of their court for different artistic expressions. Thus, it may happen that one evening during your stay, one of their storytellers comes “koz-kozer”, a way to approach the Creole culture of Reunion with his talk and his stories.

* varangue : veranda open to the garden, main living space in Reunion.

To be welcomed at “La Kaz koz-kozé” …

Geneviève and André, who themselves travel a little, would like to offer you what they are looking for elsewhere, namely moments, landscapes and exceptional encounters. For nothing is more inspiring in their eyes than to understand how nature and men have transformed a landscape that is visible, and to return from vacation having seized a parcel of the soul of a land, to feel rich of beautiful encounters, banal human, but exceptionally human.

Thank you for choosing to visit us by staying at La Kaz Koz-Kozé, where you will find kindness and simplicity. We hope so from you.

Welcome to our house !

Geneviève & André

Geneviève & André

La Kaz Koz-Kozé est labellisée Qualité Tourisme Ile de La Réunion depuis avril 2017.

Label Qualité Tourisme

Ambiance tropicale intimiste à la Kaz Koz-Kozé...

« la maison où l'on fait la causette » où les hamacs se balancent aux côtés des bananiers, caféier, combava et autres fruits de la passion, ou sous la varangue aux couleurs vives.

Enjoy the intimate tropical atmosphere at La Kaz Koz Kozé (the cabin for chatting) where the hammocks sway next to the banana trees or under the colourful veranda.

Gîte rural de 97 m², mitoyen avec les propriétaires (mais très indépendant), comprenant un jardinet fleuri et arboré (palmiste, bougainvilliers, lianes de fruits de la passion...), une varangue de 40 m² avec coin repas, coin salon et coin repos, 3 chambres doubles, dont 2 mansardées à l'étage, décorées par thèmes (Volcan, Forêt de Bois de Couleurs, Océan Indien) dont une avec douche et wc, une salle de bain végétalisée par un mur d'orchidées avec douche à l'italienne, un wc, un séjour-salon (avec téléviseur), une mezzanine avec coin lecture et jeux, et une cuisine entièrement équipée. Un spa et une table de massage sont gracieusement mis à votre disposition.

97 m² rural self-catering cottage adjoining the owner's property, with garden filled with trees and flowers, a 40 m² veranda* with eating, sitting and rest areas, and 3 double bedrooms. Two are upstairs with themed decoration (volcano, tropical forest, Indian ocean), and one has a shower and WC, bathroom with Italian-style shower, WC, sitting/living room, mezzanine with reading area and fully equipped kitchen. Spa and massage table are provided for you to use.

Rampe d'accès

Accessibilité

La Kaz Koz-Kozé évolue... Des travaux ont été effectués pour que le rez de chaussée puisse accueillir une personne à mobilité réduite en fauteuil roulant, accompagnée d'une personne valide pouvant l'aider. Les pièces accessibles sont: la varangue, une chambre, la salle de bain, les toilettes, le salon et la cuisine.

Accessibility

The ground floor* can accommodate a person with reduced mobility in a wheelchair, accompanied by an able-bodied helper.

*veranda, bedroom, bathroom, toilet, living room and kitchen

 

 

Villèle.jpg

Situé à l'Ermitage les Hauts, à 6 km du lagon et sa plage et à 400 m d'altitude, La Kaz Koz-Kozé bénéficie de l'ensoleillement de l'Ouest de La Réunion à une altitude idéale pour échapper aux fortes chaleurs du littoral de l'été austral et aux fraîcheurs hivernales de juillet-août. Ici, nul besoin de climatiseurs ni de chauffage.

At Ermitage les Hauts, 6 km from the lagoon and 400 m above sea level, La Kaz Koz-Kozé enjoys the sunny weather in the west of Reunion Island at an ideal altitude to escape the searing coastal heat of the southern summer and the cool winter months of July and August. Here, there’s no need for air conditioning or heating.

 

 

 

Visiter au départ de la Kaz Koz-Kozé...

 

DANS UN RAYON DE 2 À 6 KM

vous trouverez :

  • Tous les services indispensables : supérette, restaurants, médecins, pharmacies, boulangeries.
  • Une piscine très moderne à Vue Belle.
  • Le Musée de Villèle et la chapelle Pointue, haut lieu historique de la propriété de Mme Desbassyns, retraçant l'histoire de l'esclavage.
  • La pépinière du Musée : outre la vente de productions horticoles, sa visite est un moment de détente parmi les fleurs tropicales.
  • La Distillerie "La Part des Anges" à La Saline (visite guidée très intéressante, vente d'eaux de vie à base de fruits tropicaux).
  • Le golf du Bassin Bleu, où l'on peut jouer bien évidemment au golf, mais aussi prendre un verre au soleil couchant : la vue panoramique y est époustouflante sur toute la côte Ouest.
  • La Chapelle « La Misère », temple indhouiste de renom.
  • De petites randonnées/balades comme « Le Moulin Kader » ou bien descendre à la mer par les champs de canne à sucre.
  • Un échangeur sur la route des Tamarins (voie express, à 2km) permettant d'accéder au nord à St Paul, St Denis, Salazie, St Benoit, au sud à St Leu, St Pierre, Cilaos et le Volcan.
  • Le Jardin d'Eden, jardin botanique luxuriant près du littoral.
  • Début de la route du Maïdo (à 2 km), qui, en 45 mn de voiture, vous conduira au magnifique point de vue sur le cirque de Mafate et au départ de sentiers de randonnées (Grand Bénare, Mafate, Ilet Alcide, La Glacière).
  • Bien sûr le lagon et ses plages (à 6 km, St Gilles les Bains, l'Ermitage les Bains, La Saline les Bains). A noter, entre autres activités à faire : la randonnée aquatique organisée par la Réserve marine, avec palmes masques et tuba, l'Aquarium, ainsi que toutes activités de station balnéaire.
  • Le marché du dimanche matin à l'Ermitage les Bains: fruits, légumes et artisanat.
 

ENTRE 15 ET 20 KM :

  • Au Nord :

    • Saint Paul, sa baie et sa plage de sable noir *, baptisée « la baie du meilleur ancrage » par les premiers arrivants en 1663. Le Front de mer, son débarcadère, son « Hôtel de Laçay » qui fut tapissé en 2013 de photos géantes de Réunionnais lors de la commémoration du 350 ème anniversaire du peuplement de l'île, symbolisant la diversité de la société réunionnaise d'aujourd'hui. Grand marché en bord de plage le vendredi tout le jour et le samedi matin.

    • La Rivière des Galets : entrée du cirque de Mafate. Une piste de 12 km autorisée aux seuls taxis 4X4 vous conduit au départ des sentiers. On vous donnera leurs numéros de téléphone pour réservations.
    • Le Port, ville et port, poumon économique de l'île, ville moderne bâtie sur un delta caillouteux des produits de l'érosion du cirque de Mafate.
    • Petite randonnée (45 mn à 1h30) au Cap Noir, dans les hauts de Dos d'Ane: vue exceptionnelle (et différente de celle du Maïdo) sur le cirque de Mafate.

 

  • Au Sud :

    • Saint Leu, son petit lagon, ses rondavelles (bistrots de plage et leurs musiciens du dimanche soir) et surtout surf (hot spot mondial), parapente (départs à 800 ou 1600 m d'altitude et atterrissage sur la plage). Ne pas rater Kélonia, centre d'étude et de sauvetage des tortues marines, le musée Stella Matutina, musée de la canne à sucre et le Jardin Botanique de Mascarin avec son Conservatoire national.

    • La route Hubert de Lisle : cette route en balcon située à environ 800 m d'altitude traverse tous les Hauts de l'Ouest. Sinueuse et pittoresque, elle offre des vues éblouissantes et une traversée de La Réunion rurale, puisque, à La Réunion, la campagne, c'est dans les Hauts (les villes ceinturent le littoral de l'île). Vous y croiserez des modes de vie encore traditionnels, entre maraîchage, élevage bovin et pâturages.

Plus loin... à la journée

  • St Pierre, son port de plaisance avec bassin de radoub, sa plage aménagée, ses temples indhouistes, son activité nocturne (piano bars), son grand marché du samedi.

  • le tour de l'île fait environ 250 km, il peut se faire en une grosse journée d'excursion, car de nombreux sites sont à ne pas rater!

  • Le Grand Sud et ses coulées volcaniques, retour par « Les Plaines » (des Cafres et des Palmistes)

  • La Cité du Volcan à Bourg Murat (Plaine des Cafres)

Et enfin, quitter La Kaz Koz-Kozé pour une ou plusieurs nuits … et y revenir bien sûr s'y reposer.

et partir à pied, sur les sentiers, à la découverte des joyaux de La Réunion, à savoir les paysages de nos « Pitons, Cirques et Remparts » classés au Patrimoine mondial de l'UNESCO.

Vous profiterez mieux de ces moments si vous dormez une nuit dans un gîte d'étape (on peut vous donner de bonnes adresses), car il faut compter environ 100 km et 1h45/2h en voiture depuis La Kaz Koz-Kozé pour commencer à marcher sur les sentiers de quelques grands sites, comme le Volcan de La Fournaise, le cirque de Cilaos, le cirque de Salazie ou le haut Mafate. C'est faisable à la journée mais les 2 fois 2h de route (A/R) sont assez fatigants. 

interdiction

*(attention, à La Réunion, on ne se baigne pas à côté des plages de sable noir, sauf à l'Etang Salé dans l'espace balisé, car les eaux n'y sont pas protégées par une barrière de corail /sable blanc).

* (please note: in Reunion Island, there’s no bathing off the black sandy beaches, except at Etang Salé in the marked-off area, as the waters are not protected here by a coral barrier/white sand).

_RCD1968.jpg
 
 
 
 

 

 

Les objets de la Kaz Koz-Kozé

Amateurs de beaux objets, Geneviève et André mettent à votre disposition dans le gîte des meubles et objets qui ont du sens pour eux: entre l'armoire de l'arrière grand mère, celle de la grand-mère, les aquarelles de leur amie Anne Henriet (annehenriet.fr), les encadrements d'art de leur amie Sylvie Deboos (sylvie-cadres.eklablog.com), les photos de volcans de photographes locaux ( Jean-Patrice Caumes, les Z'Arts Grafik de Bourbon, Serge Garnier, Patrick Chefson ), les objets de récup revisités et les lits fabriqués par André (dont le métier est ébéniste), la visite du gîte sera déjà un moment haut en couleurs. Vous comprendrez pourquoi le respect des objets qu'ils proposent à votre usage est garanti par une caution.

_RCD2004.jpg

 

 

 

 

 

La kour

Le jardin de Geneviève et André, la « cour », ou la « kour », com di kreol...

Geneviève et André sont des naturalistes, amateurs mais passionnés. Naturalistes est un bien grand mot s'il évoque les diplômes universitaires du domaine « nature » qu'ils n'ont pas, mais c'est le mot juste s'il qualifie un panel de valeurs liées à la protection, à la valorisation et surtout à l'amour de la nature réunionnaise, valeurs qui les animent et auront grand plaisir à partager avec vous.

The garden of Geneviève and André

Geneviève and André are naturalists, amateurs but passionate about what they do.

They would be delighted to show you their "courtyard" where all kinds of local trees and shrubs compete with passion fruit and frangipani.

 

Métropolitaine ayant fait le choix de s'enraciner en terre réunionnaise depuis 23 ans, Geneviève, à la retraite depuis peu, était technicienne de l'Environnement au Parc national de La Réunion et ancienne accompagnatrice en montagne. André est un passionné d'ornithologie et de randonnées. Ensemble, ils « enracinent » aussi de nombreuses espèces végétales dans leur jardin, privilégiant les espèces indigènes et endémiques (n'existant qu'à La Réunion) adaptées au climat de leur espace de vie.

Ils se feront un plaisir de vous faire visiter leur « cour » où indigènes et endémiques comme bois de senteur, bois de demoiselle, latanier rouge et autres benjoin ou bois d'arnette, le disputent aux exotiques comme fruits de la passion, avocatiers, citronnelle ou frangipaniers.                    

La cour, le jardin, la varangue* de Geneviève et André, c'est aussi un espace d'expression pour leurs amis conteurs, comédiens, musiciens, chanteurs ou poètes, un endroit de « kozman » (« causement »), d'où le nom du gîte. Leur ancrage dans la terre de Réunion s'illustre non seulement dans les racines des arbres qu'ils plantent dans leur jardin, mais encore dans la mise à disposition de leur cour pour différentes expressions artistiques. Ainsi, il pourra advenir qu'un soir pendant votre séjour, un de leurs amis conteurs vienne « koz-kozer », une manière d'approcher la culture créole de La Réunion par son parler et ses histoires.

* varangue : véranda ouverte sur le jardin, espace de vie principal à La Réunion.

*varangue: veranda covered terrace opening onto the garden, the main living area in Reunion Island.

_RCD1991.jpg

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Être accueilli à « La Kaz Koz-Kozé »...

Geneviève et André, qui eux-mêmes voyagent un peu, voudraient vous offrir ce qu'ils cherchent ailleurs, à savoir des moments, des paysages et des rencontres d'exceptions. Car rien n'est plus enthousiasmant à leurs yeux que comprendre comment la nature et les hommes ont transformé un paysage qui se donne à voir, et rentrer de vacances en ayant saisi une parcelle de l'âme d'une terre, se sentir riche de belles rencontres, banalement humaines, mais exceptionnellement humaines.

 Merci d'avoir choisi de nous rendre visite en séjournant à La Kaz Koz-Kozé, où vous trouverez bienveillance et simplicité. Nous espérons de même de votre part.

Bienvenue chez nous !

Geneviève & André.

Make yourself at home at "La Kaz Koz-Kozé"...

Geneviève and André, who themselves travel a little, would like to offer you what they look for on their travels, namely special moments, landscapes and encounters.

Thank you for choosing to visit us and staying at La Kaz Koz-Kozé, where you will find kindness and the simple things in life. We hope for the same from you. Welcome to our home!